Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
HEAVYMETAL

6.5 Grendel

45 posts in this topic

I picked up another lower and the 6.5 Grendel has sparked my interest. Other than being slightly pricey and uncommon, the ballistics and accuracy out to 1000 yards look awesome. The cartridge seems to be gaining a following due to its capabilities and the fact you can fire it through the AR15 platform. Anyone have experience with the Grendel? Rather than owning another 5.56 chambered rifle I think I'm going to build a long range, sub MOA, Grendel chambered rifle.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

Anyway. Let's get back to an intelligent discussion. I'm sure Adam and Rick will chime in soon regarding choice in caliber.

Nothing wrong with multiple hobbies and being an enthusiast of any one doesn't make one a snob. 

Sadly, I've zero experience with the Grendel, but I like what you're thinking. I like the idea of the Grendel as it would make for a badass AR-15.  I've been toying with the idea of a 6.5 Creedmoor, but that's going to be a bigger heavier AR-10.

1 person likes this

Nothing wrong with multiple hobbies and being an enthusiast of any one doesn't make one a snob. 

Sadly, I've zero experience with the Grendel, but I like what you're thinking. I like the idea of the Grendel as it would make for a badass AR-15.  I've been toying with the idea of a 6.5 Creedmoor, but that's going to be a bigger heavier AR-10.

Expensive is a relative term in both the jeep and firearm world. The AR10 platform tends to be uber expensive compared to the the AR15 (think d44 vs d60). The amount of AR15 components is unreal right now. Eventually I will build a .308/7.62 rifle. I can build the Grendel for around $1000 using middle road hardware. The 7.62 looks to be right around $2000 using the same logic.

I would assume that the 7.62 rounds will be far cheaper and readily available making the savings on the build a little less drastic over time as well.